jksinfo@jks.edu.sa 920004094

Grading System

Each of the six subjects offered is graded on the following scale:

Grade Description
7 Excellent
6 Very Good
5 Good
4 Satisfactory
3 Weak
2 Poor
1 Very Poor


The number represents the student’s exam score combined with the other forms of assessment methods as described in the preceding section. Up to three bonus points can be added to the student’s total score based on overall performance in Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay.


Theory of Knowledge and Extended Essay

The band descriptors are:

A Excellent
B Good
C Satisfactory
D Mediocre
E Elementary

The Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge combine to provide an additional three points to the student’s total score, resulting in the Diploma’s maximum score of 45 points. The allocation of these points is outlined in the following matrix.


  Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
  Grade Awarded










E or N

Extended Essay A 3 3 2 2 Failing Condition
B 3 2 1 1  Failing Condition
C 2 1 1 0 Failing Condition
D 2 1 0 0 Failing Condition
E or N Failing Condition Failing Condition Failing Condition Failing Condition Failing Condition

* A student who, for example, attains a grade “B” in Extended Essay and “A” in Theory of Knowledge will be awarded three (3) bonus points, while a student who, for example, attains a grade “C” in both Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge will be awarded one (1) bonus point.

* A student who fails to submit an Extended Essay wil be awarded N for the Extended Essay, will score no points, and will not be awarded a diploma.

* Attaining a grade “E” in both Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge represent an automatic failure.


The Diploma will be awarded to a student whose total score, including any bonus points, reaches or exceeds 24 points and satisfies the following conditions:

a) Higher Level (HL) subjects – The candidate should gain 12 points or more on SL subjects.

b) Standard Level (SL) subjects – The candidate should gain 9 points or more on HL subjects.

The grade of 4 represents a passing level in each of six subjects. Therefore, a score of 24 as a minimum is required. For a student to receive excellent performance in all six subject areas, a score of 7 would be required in each subject resulting in a total of 42 points. Complete details regarding the requirements for earning the IB Diploma are detailed in section V, Article 12: Award of the IB Diploma, in the IB’s General Regulations on the IB website.

The Diploma will not be awarded regardless of the total score, to students who have:

• not completed requirements of Creativity, Activity, and Service

• A breach of regulations.

• failure to complete one or more components of assessment.

Please refer to the DP General Regulations for further details about the conditions required for the Diploma Award.